4th German Open Fly-Tying Championship 2011

The Winners of the 4th German Open Fly-Tying Championship. Congratulations!


Classical Salmon Fly         Dry Fly
1. Place Hartmut Duchrow         1. Place Philippe Zinner (France)
2. Place Jörg Bressin         2. Place Roland Fritz
3. Place Antti Aholainen (Finland)         3. Place Karl Flick (Austria)
4. Place Andrew Kaufmann (Canada)         4. Place Franz Halla
5. Place Aarne Halonen (Finland)         5. Place Erwin Tibad
Streamer         Realistic Fly
1. Place Erwin Tibad         1. Place Erwin Tibad
2. Place Andreas Weiß         2. Place Sasa Bencun (Serbia)
3. Place Roland Fritz         3. Place Roland Fritz
4. Place Michel Paquin (Canada)         4. Place Georg Christel
5. Place Philippe Zinner (France)         5. Place Philippe Zinner (France)



EWF 2011 (Experience the World of Fly Fishing)     

Idea and Concept

Gerd-Peter Wieditz


Gerd-Peter Wieditz and Jörg Schuft


Important changes

  • The event organizers modified their rules, due to the many international participants. From this point onwards, everyone can win the championship outright, including non German citizens.
  • Every participant has to either include € 5 in cash to the submission of their flies, or transfer € 5 to ourr bank account (bank information upon request). This money will be used to deal with the accumulating costs for postage etc..
  • Dry Fly category:
    • In order to be included in the competition, every participant has to submit two flies.
      One Mosquito using a Hayabusa #10 – FLY 372 (you can find it at: www.umpqua.com/pc-236-9-mosquito.aspx)
    • The second dry fly may be tied as you wish, as long as it is not realistiv fly. Both flies together will be taken into consideration by our jury.

        Only if two flies tied on Hayabusa #10 are submitted will you be considered in the competition.


The Open Fly-Tying Championship 2011 will be held as an open event, allowing fly-tiers from around the world to take part. From this point onwards, non-German fly-tiers are also able to win the overall event as well as the national champion title. Excluded from the participation are members of the jury and the organisation.

Only dry flies tied using Hayabusa hooks in the specified sizes will be acknowledged; flies that do not confirm with the above mentioned specifications will be disqualified. I

The competition in the Salmon Fly category takes only place if a minimum of 10 participants submit their flies.

Participants can submit ONE fly each in category 1, 3 and 4, however, participants must submit TWO flies in category  2.

The following classes are permitted:

1. Classical Salmon Fly
“The Baron” according to Geo. M. Kelson. Hook to be used:  Blind Eye 1/0 to 5/0

2. Dry Fly
Mosquito according to www.umpqua.com/pc-236-9-mosquito.aspx. Hook to be used: Hayabusa #10 – FLY 372

2.a Dry Fly

According to your own pattern.
Flies in the category 2 and 2a will be judged as a pair.

3. Streamer

4. Realistic Fly


The three top participants in each category receive a certificate, a medal and will be published in a German fly fishing magazine.

Participants are asked to send each fly separately. If a participant sends in several flies, you can use one box, but keep the flies separate within it. Each fly needs to be submitted including a detailed description of you’re the fly-tying technique and used materials and the filled-in application.

Jury members
The evaluation of the flies will take place at the EWF 2011.
We are very pleased that we can present:

  • Gerhard Laible - Germany
  • Werner Steinsdorfer - Germany
  • Igor Stancev - Macedonia
  • Ed Berg - USA

After the evaluation, every participant will receive a promotional package of Hayabusa hooks.

Application form


 Submission deadline: March 30, 2011

Submissions to be send to:
Gerd-Peter Wieditz

Elsa-Brandström-Str. 24
58455 Witten
e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

All participants will also receive sample hooks by Hayabusa (sponsored by Stenzel Flyfishing)
Thank you very much!